Book a Ticket and Just Leave

Sometimes, I have to stop myself from doing just that, especially in the last month. Luckily (or not so luckily, depending on how you look at it), I can’t afford to “book a ticket and just leave,” but oh how I want to.

I’ve been trying to write this post all week (note: for the last TWO weeks). No matter how I write it (spin it, say it, put it, etc.), it just doesn’t end up sounding right. Yes, I definitely want to travel. I think about it constantly: in my dreams (literally), where I’m trapped dealing with all sorts of internal conflicts (no joke, I checked a dream dictionary); at work, where I have to stop myself from reworking my budget yet another time or looking up travel destinations… at home, in the car, in the mornings, while watching TV, you name it. It’s ALL I think about.

So I know that I want to travel, but I think the important question is, “why do I want to travel?” (or better yet, “why do I think I need to travel?”)

Because … because of so many reasons — big reasons, small reasons, life-changing reasons, quizzical reasons. For starters, I’m not happy in my present (not to be confused with the notion that I’m running away). As a PR professional, I thought I’d be doing… more, but I’m not. It seems as though I do the same thing day in and day out. I sit, send emails, receive emails and repeat.

I think I need more creativity in my life. Then again, I think I need a lot of things, and that’s my number one reason for wanting to travel. I need time to figure out who I am, so that I know longer just think I might like something. I need to know.

Could I do that here in Chicago? Probably. But why not tour the world why trying to discover myself?

Oh and happy birthday, America!

Leave a Reply

