How to Make da Monies (Step 1)

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about how I want to fund this trip. To be frank, it would take me a long-ass time to save enough money (for now, $15k like the infographic). I make $30,000 a year. I live in a big city. I’m no good at saving money.

(There, I admitted it.)

I’m also not happy. And as time goes on, I’m slowly beginning to resent my job and Monday mornings more and more. Inevitably, Sunday evenings will turn into a time that no one likes — not I, not my roommate, not any other unfortunate soul I happen to come across. (Believe me, I’ve been down this road before. I speak the truth.)

So… what am I gonna do about it?

Well, I’m going back to step one. I’m re-evaluating my interests. Are they still something I’m interested in? Can I combine it with anything else? How can I cultivate it? Would I be good at it? Do I even want to make it a career?

If I can figure at least some of that out, then I’ll be somewhat on my way.

My first thought… photography. I’ve always loved it. In high school and college, photography was my escape. I could spend hours in the dark room or behind the lens and forget about all my troubles. Now that I’m out of school, I don’t have that release. Instead, I find myself turning towards things like food or alcohol (or worse).

Unfortunately, I can’t just pick up my camera (a Nikon D5000) and start making the moola. I have to grow and shape and establish my photography skills and portfolio. Heck, I even need to figure out if I think I’m good enough to make money doing it.

The Plan:

Thanks to Craigslist, I think I’ll be able to cultivate enough interest to build my portfolio. Though, at the moment, I’m not entirely sure what kind of photography I want to focus on — wedding, baby, maternity, pets, travel, etc.

Oh the decisions.

After that, I’ll need to see how it goes. If I develop demand, I can keep going. If not, well, I’ll know photo’s not for me.

Is the Life really just one giant game of Spin the Bottle? Round and round it goes, where it stop nobody knows.

Leave a Reply

