Post-Weekend Getaway: Riding the Euphoric Wave

It’s safe to say that I am probably the happiest I have been in the last few months. Sure, I still have a few qualms about my job. And yes, I’m still broke, but I’m happy. It’s amazing what a weekend away can do for your soul (I’ll get to that in a bit).

Of late, I have sometimes been forgetting that I have friends here. I do, in fact, have friends (both near and far), but lately, I’ve been so caught up in me that I don’t make the effort. And then, I get caught up in the fact that their not making any effort either. I’m lonely (or depressed); they’re busy, round and round it goes.

Last weekend, I spent some much-needed time with friends. We boated. We drank. We laughed. We joked. We swam. We talked. We had fun. A lot of fun. More fun than I can say I’ve had in a while (or maybe that’s just all the Vitamin D talking).

As much flack as Chicagoans give Wisconsin, Lake Geneva was beautiful. My friend’s house was beautiful. The lake was beautiful. The clean air, cool temps and starry nights were beautiful. It was heaven, and hopefully, I’ll be going back soon.

Even better, two days post getaway and I’m still riding the euphoric wave. I’ve even come to the realization of a little life lesson, to boot: If you want something, ask.

I want to spend time with friends. I want a reason to stay happy. I want to feel like I’m making the most out of life. I want to travel.

And on that note…

“I remember an old catholic joke about a man who spent his whole life going to a church every day and prayed to the statue of a great saint begging “please, please, please, let me win the lottery.” Finally the exasperated statue comes to life and looks down at the begging man and says “my son, please, please, please, buy a ticket.” So now I get the joke, and I bought three tickets.” — Liz Gilbert, Eat Pray Love 

One thought on “Post-Weekend Getaway: Riding the Euphoric Wave

Leave a Reply

