2014: The Year of Saving

Resolutions. We all make them this time of year. For many, as depicted by the abundance of gym bags being towed to work this week compared to last, it’s the standard lose weight, work out mantra. For other, like myself, our resolutions mean every purchase boils down to “Oh, do I really need this?”

After work drinks with coworkers? Do I really need this? One maybe… more than one, not so much.

Hot asian buns for breakfast and again at lunch (granted, they are only 1.50ea, and I get them BOGO with Foursquare)? Do I really need this? Yea, not so much.

And even though I’m trying to cut my costs by stocking up at the grocery store, I still find myself cutting corners even there. Again – do I really need the premium brand?

It will be a long, arduous task. Saving money for my future travels, that is. A long, mostly unsatisfying, journey until one day the opportunity presents itself. And I, Lauren, get to embark on my big adventure.

Though what exactly this big adventure will be, I cannot say, especially since it’s been changing every time I flip open a calendar, eye a certain destination and/or take a gander at my bank account (not always the prettiest). There are some things that I would like to say for certain though:

  • I will tour Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific SE.
  • I will, at some point, end up in Bali – the pretty, zen parts not the OMG-FUCKING-TOURISTS parts.
  • I will seek out as many vineyards as I can find.

Realistically, there is much, much more I hope to accomplish. But, while in the early planning stages, so to speak, I would like like to keep my options open. I don’t’ even have an OK-GO date at this point, though I have two rough dates in mind. One is more realistic than the other as it offers more saving time between now and then.

Wouldn’t it be grand if we could all just snap our fingers and – presto – all the money we would ever need for our RTW travels suddenly appeared? But because we can’t (le sigh), I’ll be posting my budget plans in an upcoming post.

Until then, au revoir!

3 thoughts on “2014: The Year of Saving

  1. All the best with your resolution! I find it easier to focus on big expenses like housing and transportation, rather than having to restrain myself from getting the little things multiple times a day. 🙂

    • I wish that I could. I share a place with my roomie and most of the bills are under her name. I probably would have given up on cable by now, but it’s one of those things we’ll probably always have. And unfortunately I have very little access to start negotiating the rates for cable or internet. I have been taking a look at my insurance policy though for my car, which I’m hoping to sell come spring.

  2. Pingback: Feeling Stuck. | Girl gone Bali

Leave a Reply

